Expect

“Don’t be discouraged. Don’t be upset. Expect God to act! For I know that I shall again have plenty of reason to praise Him for all that He will do. He is my help! He is my God! ” (Psalm 42:11, Living Bible)

I absolutely LOVE this verse! I saw it on a friend’s FB post. It is yet one more confirmation of what God has been teaching me these past few months.

“Expect God to act!” I know He has the ability to act, but how often do I expect it? Not nearly often enough!! If I could just learn to live every day really looking forward to the ways God will provide all that I need, life would be so much more enjoyable and I could live it to the fullest. Instead I tend to let my mind be clouded by doubt and I know I limit Him. I don’t think outside the box when it comes to receiving all He wants to do for me. I’m not talking about just taking care of the physical needs I have (the means to take care of bills, strength to meet deadlines, etc.), but providing the emotional ones as well – peace being the first thing that comes to mind. Think of how easily peace is just smashed to bits by fear and doubt.

Some of the definitions of “expect” are to believe, imagine, assume, anticipate, look for, hope for, look forward to, and envision!

How much sweeter is receiving something that you have anticipated? My daughter was recently in need of a new dress for her cousin’s wedding. She knew we were going to get one, but it wasn’t until she found the one she wanted online and KNEW it was coming that she really got excited about it. She knew I had arranged for it to come and she began anticipating it. She believed me because I have provided for her before. She didn’t doubt what I told her. God has done so much more for me than I have for my daughter, so why do I doubt? The Bible is full of promises of God’s care and provision. – and – He has proved Himself to me over and over again. We should continually expect that God is there to provide our peace and joy and tranquility and comfort and healing and provisions.

I also love that it says “for all that He WILL do”!! One of the definitions for will is “expressing inevitable events”. That’s pretty cool!! It doesn’t say He might or He’ll think about it – but that we will have plenty of reasons to praise Him for what he WILL do.

“He is my God!” There is nothing greater than Him – He is bigger than our illnesses or debt or jobs or any other circumstance we find ourselves in! So – “Don’t be discouraged. Don’t be upset. Expect for God to act!” in your life today!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Expect

  1. Linda McCain says:

    What great thoughts that I sometimes forget. We need to remember how much our Abba father does and wants to do for us. Thanks again dear daughter.

Leave a Reply

