I Just Want to Be Along for the Ride

It seems like we took a lot of road trips when I was a little girl. Of course, when you live in small town, much of what you want or need to do requires a road trip of some sort. I remember very distinctly always feeling very safe and secure when riding with my dad. He always drove and was an excellent driver. No matter where we were going or what time of day it was, I knew I was in good hands. I could lay in the back seat and relax. Watching the stars on a clear night was always a special treat and a favorite of mine. No matter the time of day or night, I had complete confidence and faith that Dad was going to get me safely to our destination. I didn’t have to worry about anything. I never even thought about how he might do things differently or that I needed to tell him how to go about getting us where we were going.

My earthly dad did his very best to keep us safe, but in reality he really didn’t have complete and total control of getting us safely from one place to another. My heavenly father did and still does. How easy it is to put our confidence in situations in other people and other things. Why then, is it so hard sometimes to put my total confidence in God – the ruler of the universe? I always seem to think I need to tell Him how to work out a situation or plan out another route to my “destination” or even worse, I don’t even give Him a chance. I just jump into the driver’s seat and take off. I never did that with my dad when he was at the wheel – why do I think I need to with God?

This evening I was tempted to begin worrying over a situation and then I thought – “No, God has it under control. I don’t need to worry about. He’s going to take care of this situation.” I need to sit back, relax and “watch the stars”. I know what it feels like to trust and have faith in someone – to feel safe. I need to practice that in situations that arise every day. There’s no better place to be than riding in the back seat with God at the Wheel!!

(Written March 25, 2010)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Just Want to Be Along for the Ride

  1. Linda McCain says:

    I want to be along for the ride also.

Leave a Reply

