He is Able

One of my favorite choruses is by Rory Noland and Greg Ferguson, and is entitled “He is Able”.

“He is able, more than able – to accomplish what concerns me today –  He is able, more than able to handle anything that comes my way  –  He is able, more than able to do much more than I could ever dream   –   He is able, more than able – to make what He wants me to be”

Able – having the power, skill, means, or opportunity to do something.  God is capable, competent, efficient and effective.  He doesn’t need me to help.  He is MORE than competent to take care of whatever it is that finds its way into my life.  Not only is he competent to take care of it – He will do it even better than I could ever dream.  This has always been a great source of comfort to me.

Tonight, however, I had another thought as I was reflecting on this chorus.  The last line talks about making me into what He wants me to be.  When I am in the middle of a stressful situation I usually want pretty immediate relief from that situation.  Many times I think God allows us to remain in a situation in order to make us what He wants us to be.  We think, “God, I get it – You don’t need to do any more explaining!  I will do better next time – or I’ll appreciate it so much that it will just amaze you!”  God, however, wants to season us and make sure that the changes He’s making in us will make us better.  He wants us to learn what HE has for us, not what we think we want or need to learn from something.  Sometimes it is a quick fix, but at others it may take a while longer.

I like to cook and there are quite a few recipes that I have that you just throw together and they are pretty tasty.  Others, however, take more time and are better when left to sit so the flavors can permeate with each other and the results can be amazing.  Meat is best, in my opinion, when cooked slowly and even better when marinated.  My husband marinated steaks all day and then grilled them tonight.  They were amazingly good!  I’ve never tried steak in the microwave before, but I’m thinkin’ it would end up, as my grandmother used to say, “like wang leather” (I’m not sure what wang leather is, but it doesn’t sound very easy to eat – or very appetizing!).  A really good roast or steak, when cooked correctly, is worth the wait!  We may get the meat on our plate sooner if we throw it in the microwave, but it really isn’t going to be the best quality.  If, however, we wait for it to be prepared properly, we will enjoy the benefits and be able to enjoy a magnificent meal!

I think that we could apply this same principle to our lives.  Quick fixes may seem tempting, but in the end, things that take longer to work through change us into something different and better than we were before – if we allow them to.  God is continually making us into “what He wants us to be”.  Sometimes we have to be patient, knowing that the end result will be worth the wait.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He is Able

  1. Linda McCain says:

    Great truths.

Leave a Reply

