My God, My Rock

Psalm 18:2 “The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”

The Bible often talks about God being our rock.  This gives us a picture of God being a great support; providing both strength and reliability.  He is our defender and provides us protection.  The dictionary defines a fortress as “a heavily protected and impenetrable building; a person or thing not susceptible to outside influence or disturbance”.

What a great illustration this is of what God is for us.  Satan has a field day coming at us from all sides; trying to lure us away from the fortress that God provides to us.  He lies and gets us to doubt, causes us to worry, and tries to destroy our relationship with God and with others.  As long as we stay put, inside that fortress, he can’t get to us.  It is impenetrable.  God isn’t susceptible to Satan’s tactics.  He guards us heavily from harm.  He wants to be our defender; to shield and protect us.  It’s when we start wandering outside that fortress that Satan has access to us.  This is something most of us do – often.  The great thing, however, is that we can always return to the fortress.  God will be there, ready to offer us protection.  He has been providing His children protection for all of time.  Just as David sought protection inside the fortress, it is our privilege as well.  We serve the same God that protected David from his enemies.  He is capable and dependable and will forever be the rock, deliverer, shield and stronghold for His children.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My God, My Rock

  1. Linda McCain says:

    Great truths.

Leave a Reply

