Understanding

“Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.” Isaiah 40:28 (NIV)

Several years ago in a Bible Study the last line of this verse was one that the author highlighted. It became one of my favorites of all time. “His understanding no one can fathom.” God understands ME – no matter what it is that I’ve done – He understands. Times when I doubt, fear, worry, or sin. Times when I fail Him or others. There’s nothing I can do that will surprise Him. There is nothing I do that will cause Him to quit loving me. There may be consequences and the difficult times may not be pleasant, but just knowing that God understands is enormous to me.

As humans there is a limit to our understanding. God’s understanding is the polar opposite of our own. This verse says that “no one can fathom” it. Of course, fathom means to understand, but other meanings include comprehend, grasp, get to the bottom of, interpret, decipher, or decode. God’s grace reaches THAT far.

He created us and knows everything about us and is always there to say, “I get it. I understand YOU. I know your heart and I see past all the shortcomings and love who you are.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

