Understanding – Another Perspective

Yesterday I wrote about the following verse in Isaiah 40:28 – “Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.”

Most often when I think about this verse, I do think about it in terms of God’s grace and forgiveness. However, there is another way that it applies to our lives. God also understands and is right there with us when we are lonely or heartbroken. During these times in our lives, one of the greatest feelings on earth happens when you come across another person who has been through exactly what you are going through. It is almost a palpable feeling – there is an instant connection on a deeper level than you have experienced before and you feel comforted and at peace knowing that you are understood – your feelings are validated. One of the times in my life that this was very real to me was 10 years ago when I had a miscarriage. I had many people tell me that they were sorry, but I could tell by the look in another woman’s eyes if she had experienced the same loss I had. She didn’t have to say anything I just knew and I knew she understood – really understood what I was feeling.

At other times have to go searching for someone to listen and encourage us – the same person can’t be all things for us. Sometimes your spouse is that person. At other times it might be a sibling or a child or a friend. Sometimes no one seems to understand or really be able to help.

The great thing is that God understands – no matter what. He took on every sorrow we will ever experience when He died for us. He cares for us more than anyone else ever will and doesn’t ever get tired of being there for us. He is the only one in our lives that can always provide comfort. If we open ourselves up to accept that “understanding” – He will never fail us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

