Destiny

Most often when I write, I write about verses or songs that are familiar and that I have relied on for a number of years.  Tonight I found a “new” one (to me).

Psalm 73
22 I was so foolish and ignorant—
I must have seemed like a senseless animal to you.
23 Yet I still belong to you;
you hold my right hand.
24 You guide me with your counsel,
leading me to a glorious destiny.

As humans we have a pretty big tendency to do foolish things – things we know we shouldn’t.  For most of us we have a propensity to fall into the same old traps.  It may be gossiping or using inappropriate language.  We may not always tell the truth or put others down.  The list is pretty endless.  God may deal with us about a sin and we repent and work on it and feel we have it under control, only to find ourselves fall back into the same sin in a moment of weakness.  I don’t know about you, but when I do this, I get frustrated with myself.  I feel “foolish and ignorant”, much like Asaph*, the writer of this Psalm.

It is interesting to me, that the same problems and sins we find ourselves surrounded by in our world today, are the same problems and sins that have been following man since the fall of Adam.  Lust, greed, self-centeredness, immorality, murder, envy…nothing is new or different.  Sin is sin.  Generation after generation of mankind has fallen into the same traps.

What is phenomenal, however, is that isn’t the only thing that is the same.  God is also the same – yesterday, today and forever!!!  The God that Asaph belonged to, who took him by the hand and guided him with His counsel, is same God that we belong to.  He is there, waiting to take us by the hand and guide us by that same counsel.  A counsel that is timeless and proven.

What a comfort it is to have someone hold your hand.  Just the thought of it offers a sense of security and serenity.  Holding hands is a gesture of intimacy.  You are united with someone, heading the same direction – you can’t hold hands and go in opposite directions.  Now take that thought and personalize it – the God of the universe takes my hand and leads me to a “glorious destiny”.  That brings tears to my eyes!  So, no matter how foolish or ignorant we are – if we are children of God – our destiny is set and it will be magnificent!!!

*A Levite; one of the leaders of David’s choir and the author of Psalm 73

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Destiny

  1. Linda McCain says:

    This is so awesome.

  2. Nanette Kraus says:

    Thanks for this one and all of your blogs. This is becoming my daily devotional in a very busy time in our lives!

    Your words today are SO true. I feel like I will never learn my lesson in some areas and God has to use up all His patience to continue guiding me along, trying once more to show me the way. Thanks be to God for His mercy, grace and patience with all of us.

Leave a Reply

