In His Care

Psalm 61: Hear my cry, O God; Give heed to my prayer.  From the end of the earth I call to Thee, when my heart is faint; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  For Thou hast been a refuge for me, A tower of strength against my enemy.  Let me dwell in Thy tent forever; Let me take refuge in the shelter of Thy wings.”

At times in life we encounter situations that drain us emotionally and physically – our heart grows faint.  At those times we cry out to God, often pleading for Him to draw us near to him.

This passage offers us some incredible promises that are easy to visualize.  A picture of a massive rock easily comes to mind.  It is a stable and sturdy place that offers immeasurable support.  We don’t have to worry about the earth crumbling around us.  It is a place of safety.  When we are worn out and can’t carry on, God promises to lead us the rock – where His strength restores us.

David also describes God as a refuge and tower of strength.  A refuge is “a condition of being safe or sheltered from pursuit, danger or trouble”.  When I think of a tower, I think of an ancient castle, strong and impenetrable.  A place where you feel safe and secure.  You know that nothing is going to harm you.  God is the only true protection we have.

David asks that he be allowed to dwell in God’s tent forever.  David enjoys being in the presence of God.  He feels welcome in His dwelling.  It is a place He desires to be.  I have homes, besides my own, that I feel comfortable in.  The owners of those homes are people who I am close to and comfortable with.  I believe this is the kind of feeling David is portraying.  God’s dwelling is a place that David feels comfortable, protected and at peace.

Finally David illustrates God’s protection by taking refuge in shelter of God’s wings.  This brings to mind the protection that birds provide their young.  We think of wings as protecting, hiding, covering and safeguarding.  It is another example of a place that provides security.

God’s strength, protection and power are ours as children of God.  There is no better, more secure place to be than in His care.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

