They Are New Every Morning

Most of the time, I really am, a “glass half-full” sort of gal.  Not so much, however, when it comes to my “to do list”.  It seems I can’t even see the end of what needs to be done.  Even fitting in what I want to do seems overwhelming and is usually what is left out.

The past few weeks I have been especially overwhelmed by the ongoing list that resides in my head.  Here is just a short synopsis of what has been bothering me.  I could write the rough draft for my blog in the dust on my furniture.  I haven’t fulfilled my goal of writing every day – I’ve not even come close!  The piles of paper in my office just get shifted around, all the while I’m hoping they aren’t intermixing – I really don’t want to resort them.  Laundry this past month has been done on an as needed basis.  My body is grossly out of shape, due to a lack of exercise.  Only two of the eight pounds I wanted to lose are gone…  I think you get the idea.

I read two things this morning that began to refocus my thinking.  One was a devotion entitled, “Retreating Forward”.  It was an excellent reminder about how we need to take time to retreat, reflect, refresh and then move forward.  The other thing I read was a blog about the writers month of June.  I began to reflect on what my month of June was like.  This time, however, instead of the half-empty approach, I started thinking about the things I accomplished.  I took a technology class in which I learned new fun and exciting things (I am seriously addicted now to Google Reader and the blogs I signed up for).  With the completion of the class (which was only two days long), I gained an hour of credit I need to relicense.  I took and edited hundreds of pictures for my nephews baseball team – which I love doing – the finished product gives me satisfaction and I’m helping make memories for the families of the team.  In addition it will (hopefully) provide some shots for scouts and recruiters, as many of these young men want to take their “game” to the next level and play ball in college.  I was also able to help my daughter get her projects chosen for the fair and gather the supplies we will need.  I got several projects at work completed.  I did lose two pounds – not a great number, but it’s a start.  This list goes on as well.  It’s not as long as my other list, but it does go on…

As I was reflecting on these things a verse that I have always loved came to mind.  It is from Lamentations 3:22-23, “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, His compassions never fail, they are new every morning, great is Your faithfulness”.  What a great promise this is!!  I believe that the verses are talking about sin, but I also believe that they can be applied to all areas of our life.  It is so easy to become consumed by what we need to do, by what our responsibilities are, what we want to do.  It’s difficult to find balance in these areas of our lives, but every day is a new day.  We can’t become bogged down by what we didn’t accomplish yesterday or by what’s going to happen tomorrow. We need to take a few moments each day to retreat, reflect and refresh.  We need to take time to delight in the fact that God has given us a new day and that His love, mercy, grace and faithfulness are there for the taking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to They Are New Every Morning

  1. Linda McCain says:

    Great insight.

  2. Nanette Kraus says:

    Lamentations is one of my favorite passages, for the reasons you mentioned. As working, busy moms, wives and friends, it’s so easy to be consumed by everything and everyone that pulls at us – you wrote a great reminder of God’s desired balance for our lives.

  3. Missy Kline-Portenier says:

    Tammy~
    I must agree with the above writings! Time! It steals from us in a way we can’t get back but it also brings the greatest joys! Sometimes I get so overwhelmed with the things banging around in my head I forget the little pleasures in life!
    Those dust bunnies will never be gone but we can “Just keep swimming” as Dori from FINDING Nemo says! Lol
    Those piles of laundry are lucky to get wash & its a special day when the actually get pulled from the dryer & folded! We usually live out of the clean clothes basket! Thank goodness for dryers because my laundry maid quit! Lol (Never really had one).
    After Taking back the Director Of nursing position in Hays I’m lucky to get my brain to slow down enough to get a few winks, kiss my kids & hubby … Only to start over again with a list of “To do” things for the next day plus field questions from staff, families, residents & coroprate & State! Whew just writing that is exhausting! Lol
    Thanks for Sharing!
    You are a gifted writer with humor & Love!
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

