On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand

I love the hymns of the church.  I also enjoy many of the chorus/worship songs that are popular today, but when life is difficult, I am worried or afraid, it’s the hymns that come to mind and comfort me.

Today I was reading a Christian novel and in the novel one of the characters began to sing “My Hope is Built”, by Edward Mote.  I’m going to share one of the verses and the chorus tonight –

“His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.

On Christ the solid rock I stand – all other ground sinking sand…all other ground is sinking sand”.

This song, written in 1834, demonstrates the timelessness of both the struggles and heartaches of this world and of the promises of God.  Trials and difficulties come, sometimes in such overwhelming waves that we feel that the ground all around us is washing away.  The promise this verse shares, is that Christ is our solid rock and that even in the dark times, when the floods of destruction and devastation cause uncertainty around us, we can stand firm in His care.

When my dad was sick and dying from cancer, my mom received a wall hanging that said, “Sometimes God calms the storm – at other times He lets the storm rage and calms His child”.  How true that is!!  There is nothing quite like the feeling that this assurance provides – knowing that God is in control and you are being taken care of.  What is happening may not be what you would choose to have happen, but you know that God is working on your behalf and He has your best interest at heart.  He will see your through and you will be stronger and more mature when the storm passes.

So, whatever you are facing, rest in the promise that He is our rock and even when the storms rage, He will provide the solid, unmoving, unchanging rock for us to stand upon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand

  1. Linda McCain says:

    I am so thankful He is our Solid Rock. And He will never leave us or forsake us. What an awesome God we serve. Thanks Tammy for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

