The Brevity of Life

My heart is hurting.  Last night one of my former students was killed in a vehicle accident.  She was 16.

Death, especially that of a young person makes us stop and realize the brevity of life.  One minute someone can be here among us and in a moment’s time – they are gone.  Time seems to stand still for a while.  You want to reverse the clock and have things turn out differently.

John 11:25 holds great promise for those who put their faith in Christ.  “Jesus said to [Martha after the death of Lazarus], ‘I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in Me shall live even if he dies.'”

Every minute of our life counts.  Each moment is an opportunity to show Christ to others.  Each day, a new day to show His love.  The phrase “life is too short”, although overused, is true.  Sometimes we don’t get “do-overs”.   We need to tell those we love that we love them.  We need to live our lives so there are no regrets.

Although the pain right now is great, I want to remember how quickly life can change.  I want to hug my daughter a little closer and never miss an opportunity to say “I love you”. I want to remember to tell her and my nieces and nephews how proud I am of them and what great people they are.  I want to be sure to stop and talk with my former students and see how things are going in their lives – to let them know I care.  I want to take time for my friends and family – to do things that make them feel special.  Most of all, I want to show them all what a difference Christ has made in my life.

And then, when this life is over, I look forward to a better one.  One where I don’t have to feel the pain of death and the sorrow of loss.  Revelation 21:4 promises – “And He shall wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there shall no longer be any death; there shall no longer be any  mourning, or crying, or pain.”  Oh how great that will be!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Brevity of Life

  1. Linda McCain says:

    What great truths. Courtney and I were talking tonight and when we heard it one of our first thoughts was “I hope she was a believer” had accepted Jesus . I didn’t know her but my heart has been hurting every since I heard it. Thanks Tammy. And I love you so very much.

  2. Nanette Kraus says:

    I am so sorry to hear of the loss of this precious student. Prayers are going your way and to the family – this is every parent’s worst nightmare. Thank God for His promise in Revelation that there will be no such sorrow, loss or tears in heaven.

    I am watching a friend (one of my girlfriend’s husbands) die of stage 4 cancer that has now spread all over. He is almost exactly our age. Life is short and we should never take a day for granted.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

