New Perspective

I read something this evening that was a new way of thinking about God’s gift of salvation.  It is from the devotional “Grace for the Moment”, by Max Lucado (he truly is one of the most gifted writers – EVER!!)  It is entitled, “What a God!”

He doesn’t condone our sin, nor does he compromise his standard.

He doesn’t ignore our rebellion, nor does he relax his demands.

Rather than dismiss our sin, he assumes our sin and, incredibly, sentences himself.

God’s holiness is honored.  Our sin is punished…and we are redeemed.

God does what we cannot do so we can be what we dare not dream: perfect before God.

A sinless God, willingly condemned himself…for the sins I commit.  He switched places with me.  He allowed himself to be beaten and crucified in my stead.  He took on the punishment I deserved so that I could be declared sinless before God.

This is something I have believed most of my life, but I think the phrase that really hit me tonight was “sentenced himself”.  That is inconceivable, indescribable love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Perspective

  1. Linda McCain says:

    WOW!! Max truly has a way of putting things. And so do you.

Leave a Reply

