No Unwholesome Word

During our Christmas with my husband’s family, our niece asked her three-year old to tell my husband his verse.  Since that time the first phrase of his verse has been playing over and over in my mind.  It was certainly something I needed to hear and God was able to use that moment to make me aware that it was something I needed to work on.  I decided that it would be my first memory verse for the year.

Ephesians 4:29  –  “Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear.”

As I was looking at this verse in different translations I noticed some of them interpreted “unwholesome word” as solely dirty or foul talk.  I agree that is certainly one example of unwholesome talk, but I think there are other ways we allow unwholesome talk to overtake our lives.  I believe that gossip and/or anything we say that is unkind or malicious toward (or about) someone would also fall under the umbrella of “unwholesome words”.   Nagging and complaining would also fall in that category.  OUCH!!!

It is so easy to fall into the trap of allowing unwholesome talk to proceed from our mouths.  Some hurtful things have happened in my world this week and I have really be tried in this area.  I have failed to keep my speech edifying way more than I care to admit.  (I’ve been asking for forgiveness a lot!)  It’s easy when we are hurt to allow that hurt to come out in the form of bitter words.

I was talking to someone today that told me that they recently heard the saying, “Be sure your words are soft and sweet, because you may end up having to eat them!”

I pray that my words may become sweeter and that I will more often “give grace to those who hear”!!!

Thanks, Wendy and Gabe!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Unwholesome Word

  1. Linda McCain says:

    Boy this really speaks to me also. And I can say OUCH .

Leave a Reply

