The Greatness of Christ

Philippians 1:20 (New Century Version)

“I expect and hope that I will not fail Christ in anything but that I will have the courage now, as always, to show the greatness of Christ in my life here on earth, whether I live or die.”

I saw a part of it in a Max Lucado devotional posting and liked it.  I have decided to use it as my second memory verse for 2011.  I certainly don’t feel that this verse describes me, but want to commit it to memory in order to give myself something to strive toward.

Many times I like to go to biblegateway.com and look at a verse comparing the wording in different translations.  I really liked the words “to show the greatness of Christ in my life” that the New Century Version has used.  The New Living Translation said “that my life will bring honor to Christ” and the NIV says that “Christ will be exalted in my body”.   I hope that in memorizing this I will keep all of these thoughts in mind.

It is my goal to show how great Christ is and that I would bring honor to him!  I don’t feel at all adequate in this, but strive to exemplify it more – especially to those who don’t know Him.  Showing how the greatness of Christ and honoring Him to me comes from one’s character – in the way we react – how often we keep our temper in check and react to what happens around us – basically, how we live our lives on a daily basis.

What came to mind with the NIV’s translation was a little different.  It made me think of my body as a temple (2 Cor. 6:16).  A few years ago I lost quite a bit of weight.  I didn’t ever reach my goal, but was pretty comfortable.  I was exercising regularly and felt pretty good.  Over time, I have gained back a few pounds and my exercise plan has been moved to the back burner.  Every day I think that today is the day that I’m going to get back on track.  When I saw this in the NIV, I thought – maybe this is what I need to get myself back into good physical shape as well as spiritual.  I’m going to give it my best shot.

I believe that God cares about every aspect of our life.  He will be there to encourage us and give us the strength to carry out our goals.  So, whether you want to get in better shape spiritually, physically or emotionally, He will be there to help you show the “greatness of Christ” in every area of your life.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Greatness of Christ

  1. Linda McCain says:

    This really speaks to me and things I have been dealing with in my life the past few weeks. Thanks this gives me a lot of meat to chew on.

    I remember something I learned in a study I took over 30 years ago was by Dr. Narramore. Taught by June Dunavan. It was awesome. And one of the main things I’ve never forgotten from it is “The true test of a spirit filled Christian life [or our walk] is not how we act but how we react to the things in our life. WOW. Boy thanks Tammy.

Leave a Reply

