I’m Gonna Keep Trustin’

It’s been a LONG time since I’ve posted!!  More about what I’ve been doing in a later post, but wanted to take a few minutes today to share what’s on my heart today.

The difficulties of life have been larger than usual lately:

  • the soil in our state (along with many others) is parched and in dire need of rain
  • many families around the world are dealing with other natural disasters, having had their lives turned upside down
  • a young man in our church, who is a talented athlete, that has been battling with joint/muscle problems and was tested this week for rheumatoid arthritis (this was an especially tough one for me this week)
  • a dear family friend, who is senior citizen, living on a fixed income had surgery and is off work (which supplements her income) for a time
  • our nation’s economy is hanging in the balance with no apparent solution on the horizon

These are the things that have been heavy on my heart these past few weeks.  One more item that hit our family directly this week was a payment that was 13 days past due for my husband’s business.  It’s a long story, but the short version is that on Wednesday he received a call that if the company didn’t receive their money today (Friday) they would be out on Monday to pick up his equipment.  Well, if you’ve followed my blog, you know that God has been working for some time with both my husband and me in the area of not worrying.  I’m getting better…much better and I wish I could say that I didn’t spend any time worrying – but I can’t.  I battled back and forth throughout the rest of Wednesday and into Thursday between the peacefulness of knowing that no matter what, God would take care of us aaaaaand not having such peaceful moments.  I spent time praying and listening to Gospel music, which really helped, but Satan kept pounding with the “what ifs”, and I’d start worrying all over again.  One of the things God brought to mind was something that I heard a few weeks ago.  Mom and I had gone to see our dear friend (mentioned above) after her surgery.  Her daughter shared with us that her mom had been worrying about how she was going to pay for the hospital stay, surgery, etc.  Her response to her mom was, “MOM, when has God NOT taken care of you?!?!?  When??”  I repeated that over and over to myself throughout the day Thursday.  The end of the story is this…I received a text from my husband on Thursday afternoon and not only had he received his check, but it was $500 more than we had anticipated!!!  Yes indeed, God is good.

I was visiting with my Mom today and she was sharing her concern about the economy of our country.  She, as many of us do, become worried as we read about and watch on TV the crisis we are in.  She said, “Satan just keeps asking me, ‘What are gonna do if you don’t get your social security check’?”  My response was (and this was completely a God thing), “Just say, ‘I’m gonna keep trustin’!!!!”

We know from experience that bad things will happen and things that turn our world on end will continue to be a part of this life.  God may not always answer how or when we want him to, but we can be assured that we can keep trustin’ and He will keep taking care of us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Gonna Keep Trustin’

  1. Darlene says:

    Thank you my love!!!

Leave a Reply

