Something Good has Happened

I grew up listening to Southern Gospel music and it is most often my “go to” music, especially when I need a “lift”.  The radio in my car is set on XM18 – southern gospel music 24/7.  :o]

The last few weeks (maybe because I am hoping our house sells SOON) I have had the following song, by Bill Gaither, running through my head.

“I just feel like something good is about to happen

I just feel like something good is on its way

He has promised that He’d open all of Heaven

And, brother, it could happen any day

When God’s people humble themselves and call on Jesus

And they look to Heaven, expecting as they pray

I just feel like something good is about to happen

And, brother, it could be this very day”  

So often I think of this song as it pertains to the big things in life – a healing, a financial breakthrough, a mended relationship, a sold realtor sign in our yard.  It certainly never, ever hurts to expect good things to come from the tragedies in our lives or something that we would like to have – ever!  However, the thought struck me tonight as I as preparing supper that we also need to remember to view the small, everyday things that happen to us each day as “Something Good” – that we woke up healthy today, that everyone made it home safely at the end of a long day, that our child accomplished a goal, that our boss was happy with a job well done, that we made someone else’s day by extending kindness to them, a plains state sunset, the Rocky Mountain air…  We may have to look harder some days than others, but if we can find nothing else, the God of the Universe loves us and that is the most extraordinary thing that could happen to anyone on any day!!

Thank you, God, for all the good things that happened today, especially for loving me!!!

 
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

